Favourite Fictional Couple Of All Time…

Who’s your favourite fictional couple? The one that makes you feel all warm and fuzzy (and a little jealous) whenever they interact? The one that makes your toes curl inward with pleasure and your heart pound with excitement? The one that makes you sigh with pleasure and wish you found someone like that?

Nope, it isn’t Katniss and Peeta, or Bella and Edward/Jacob, it isn’t James and Lily (well, I only read about them in fanfictions and not the official Harry Potter book series, so they don’t count anyway). For me, it’s definitely Percy Jackson and Annabeth Chase, from the Percy Jackson book series by Rick Riordan.

Percy Jackson is funny, charming, reckless, impulsive, and Annabeth is tough, intense, super intelligent, witty, sarcastic. They’ve both carried the weight of the sky on their shoulders for each other (literally), they’ve fought back to back against countless enemies, and sacrificed their lives for each other more times than I’ve eaten pretzels. They also have the best conversations and kisses. If I had conversations/kisses like that, I think I won’t mind having to fight minotaurs and medusas every day. And I wouldn’t need any ambrosia. (sort of like demigod drugs/painkillers)

(here’s a picture I found on the Percy Jackson fandom site and couldn’t tear my eyes from since. Honestly, Rick Riordan should be using these pictures for his book covers and not the weird ones he uses.)

Here are some quotes from the book that I absolutely love.

  • “What if it lines up like it did in the Trojan War … Athena versus Poseidon?”
    “I don’t know. But I just know that I’ll be fighting next to you.”
    “Why?”
    “Because you’re my friend, Seaweed Brain. Any more stupid questions?
  • She glanced at the minotaur horn in my hands, then back at me. I imagined she was going to say, You killed a minotaur! or Wow, you’re so awesome! or something like that.
    Instead she said, “You drool when you sleep.”
  • Before I could lose my courage, I said, “Don’t I get a kiss for luck? It’s kind of a tradition, right?”
    I figured she would punch me. Instead, she drew her knife and stared at the army marching toward us. “Come back alive, Seaweed Brain. Then we’ll see.”
  • “Dance you guys!” Thalia ordered. “You look stupid just standing there.”
    I looked nervously at Annabeth, then at the groups of girls who were roaming the gym.
    “Well?” Annabeth asked.
    “Um, who should I ask?”
    She punched me in the gut. “Me, Seaweed Brain.”
    “Oh. Oh right.”
  • “But you’ll be killed!”
    “I’ll be fine. Besides, we’ve got no choice.”
    Annabeth glared at me like she was going to punch me. And then she did something that surprised me even more. She kissed me.
  • “Once she was gone, I knelt next to Annabeth and felt her forehead. She was still burning up.
    “You’re cute when you’re worried,” she muttered. “Your eyebrows get all scrunched together.”
    “You are not going to die while I owe you a favor,” I said. “Why did you take that knife?”
    “You would’ve done the same for me.”

And finally, the ultimate Percy-Annabeth scene in the final book (The Last Olympian). It definitely didn’t disappoint :) I couldn’t wipe that goofy smile on my face for hours. Yup, I must have looked a little barmy.

“Hey.” Anabeth slid next to me on the bench. “Happy birthday.”
She was holding a huge misshapen cupcake with blue icing.
I stared at her. “What?”
“It’s August 18,” she said. “Your birthday, right?”
I was stunned. It hadn’t even occurred to me, but she was right. I had turned sixteen this morning – the same morning I’d made the choice to give Luke the knife. The prophecy had come true right on schedule, and I hadn’t even thought about the fact that it was my birthday.
“Make a wish,” she said.
“Did you bake this yourself?” I asked.
“Tyson helped.”
“That explains why it looks like a chocolate brick. ” I said. “With extra blue cement.”
Annabeth laughed.
I thought for a second, then blew out the candle.
We cut it in half and shared, eating with our fingers. Annabeth sat next to me, and we watched the ocean. Crickets and monsters were making noises in the woods, but otherwise it was quiet.
“You saved the world,” she said
“We saved the world.”
“And Rachel is the new Oracle, which means she won’t be dating anybody.”
“You don’t sound disappointed,” I noticed.
Annabeth shrugged. “Oh, I don’t care.”
“Uh-uh.”
She raised an eyebrow. “You got something to say to me, Seaweed Brain?”
“You’d probably kick my butt.”
“You know I’d kick your butt.”
She brushed the cake off my hands. “When I was at the river Styx, turning invulnerable…Nico said I had to concentrate on one thing that kept me anchored to the world, that made me want to stay mortal.”
Annabeth kept her eyes on the horizon. “Yeah?
“Then up on Olympus,” I said, “when they wanted to make me a god and stuff, I kept thinking-“
“Oh, you so wanted to.”
“Well, maybe a little. But I didn’t, because I thought – I didn’t want things to stay the same for eternity, because things could always get better. and I was thinking…” My throat felt really dry.
“Anyone in particular?” Annabeth asked, her voice soft.
I looked over and saw that she was trying not to smile.
“You’re laughing at me,” I complained.
“I am not!”
“You are so not making this easy.”
“Then she laughed for real, and she put her hands round my neck. “I am never, ever going to make things easy for you, Seaweed Brain. Get used to it.”
When she kissed me, I had the feeling my brain was melting right through my body.
I could’ve stayed that way forever, except a voice behind us growled, “Well, it’s about time!”
Suddenly the pavilion was filled with torchlight and campers. Clarisse led the way as the eavesdroppers charged and hoisted us both onto their shoulders.
“Oh, come on!” I complained. “Is there no privacy?
“The lovebirds need to cool off!” Clarisse said with glee.
“The canoe lake!” Connir Stoll shouted.
With a huge cheer, they carried us down the hill, but they kept us close enough to hold hands. Annabeth was laughing, and I couldn’t help laughing too, even though my face was completely red.
We held hands right up to the moment they dumped us into the water.
Afterward, I had the last laugh. I made an air bubble at the bottom of the lake. Our friends kept waiting for us to come up, but hey – when you’re the son of Poseidon, you don’t have to hurry.
And it was pretty much the best underwater kiss of all time.

 When the movie for the Last Olympian comes out, I’m definitely nominating them for ‘best kiss’. Unfortunately though, the first movie was kind of a disappointment for me (click here to read more). I hope the next one is better- they’ve officially started filming- and will hopefully be done by next year.

So…Who’s your favourite fictional couple?  Do you like Percy and Annabeth as much as I do? Or are you Team Rachel Elizabeth Dare? Let me know in the comments below :) If you haven’t read the series, I hope this is enough reason to do so (immediately)- but if it isn’t, here’s a synopsis of the first book to get you even more interested!

5 responses to “Favourite Fictional Couple Of All Time…

  1. Molly

    Haha, I love Annabeth and Percy. They’re just so perfect for each other :)

  2. Really liked this post. Interesting idea to pick a favourite couple and it was so refreshing to read about someone other than the predictable couples.
    I would like to nominate you for the Sunshine award;
    http://emilysbooksforbreakfast.wordpress.com/2012/06/13/sunshine-award/

  3. Pingback: Clarisse and Annabeth « thelightpurplesky

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

May 2012
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  
